Simulation

Pre-Crash-Matrix (PCM) v5.0 format

Contact: pcm(at)vufo.de

Video1_Testcase_1_animation_3D_COS.mp4

Visualization of an example case in PCM v5.0 format

DOWNLOAD
You can download specifications and (generic) example case here:
PCM_v5.0_Format_Specification.pdf
PCM_v5.0_Format_Specification
PCM_v5.0_Format_Testcase

property_DE_road_marks
library_DE_standard_road_marks
library_DE_standard_objects (will be available soon)
library_DE_standard_traffic_signs (will be available soon)

WHAT IS PCM?
PCM is the abbreviation for Pre-Crash-Matrix, and is a specified format to describe the phase of a traffic accident prior to the collision (the so-called pre-crash phase). It describes participants, its dynamics as well as the environment. Initially the VUFO (Institute for Traffic Accident Research at Dresden University of Technology) de-veloped the format in 2011 to provide pre-crash data for accidents investigated within the German In-Depth Accident Study (GIDAS). In January 2019, the format was defined in a more general way. Since then, it is applicable for any accident or scenario database and publicly accessible. As it does not describe further data regarding the accident / scenario (e.g. accident description, accident type, injury severities, et al.), specific analyses should always refer to the linked accident / scenario database.

CREATION AND SPECIFIC PCM DATABASE
A PCM case can be created by simulation methods (e.g. accident reconstruction) as well as data recording (e.g. from Event Data Recorders (EDR), Naturalistic Driving Study (NDS), Field Operational Test (FOT), …). The resulting database contains a set of accidents / scenarios in PCM format.

FURTHER DEVELOPEMENT
PCM is a “living format” that will evolve in cooperation with their users and partners. Send suggestions for format extensions, new or missing objects (OBJTYPE), mistakes in the specification and especially further libraries (e.g. with your countries specific characteristics) directly to VUFO via pcm(at)vufo.de. In order to provide uniform definitions for all users the extensions can then be in-cluded in the next release.

Simulation & safety system assessment

The development of new active safety systems (Advanced Driving Assistance Systems, ADAS) in-creases in importance for automobile manufacturers and suppliers. These systems are designed to prevent accidents or reduce their severity and thus positively change the future accident scenario.In order to be able to analyze and evaluate the benefits and functional safety of such systems at an early stage of the development process, the simulation of the system in real accidents is of major importance. Based on the accident investigation and reconstruction within the GIDAS project, the real accidents can be changed simulatively by an implemented system and thereby analyzed and evaluated.

Video2_Simulation_1080409_3D_IPG.mp4

Example 1: real accident

Video3_Simulation_1080409_3D_mit_AEB.mp4

Example 1: virtual accident with implemented braking assist

Video4_Simulation_1160245_3D_IPG.mp4

Example 2: real accident

Video5_Simulation_1160245_3D_IPG_Ausweichen.mp4

Example 2: virtual accident with implemented steering assist

Due to the large number of accidents in the GIDAS and GIDAS-PCM database, representative con-clusions can be made for the German accident scenario and thus questions like:
  • Accident prevention
  • Speed reduction
  • Injury severity reduction
  • Detection and triggering rates of systems
  • And others
can be considered. Examples of safety system assessment:

Reduction of collision speeds
Frequency of system initiation
Design of sensor geometries
Injury risk function

The GIDAS-PCM is based on the GIDAS database. It contains the pre-collision driving behaviour and the static and dynamic values of the participants are available up to five seconds before the first collision. Thus, the GIDAS-PCM enables simulation-based analyses and evaluations of real accidents. The visualization of accidents can be realized in a 2D and 3D environment (e.g. IPG Car-Maker).

Video6_Simulation_1130221_2D.mp4

2D visualization

Video7_Simulation_1130221_3D.mp4

3D visualization

Information about GIDAS-PCM:
  • Large database with real accident scenarios
  • Exists since 2011 with accident years as of 1999
  • Investigation areas: Dresden and Hanover
  • Detailed accident environment up to 5 sec. before collision (since 2016)
  • Enables representative statements about the German accident scenario
  • Half-yearly updates with approx. 230 new accidents
  • 9,729 accidents with the following constellations (effective 02/2018):
Proportion of participant types inlcuded in the GIDAS-PCM
Existing interfaces:
  • IPG: CarMaker, TruckMaker, MotorcycleMaker
  • Mechanical Simulation: CarSim, BikeSim
  • TASS international: PreScan
  • dSPACE: Automotive Simulation Models (ASM)

Simulation

Pre-Crash-Matrix (PCM) v5.0 Format

Kontakt: pcm(at)vufo.de

Video1_Testcase_1_animation_3D_COS.mp4

Visualisierung eines Beispielfalls im PCM v5.0 Format

DOWNLOAD
Hier können Sie die Spezifikationen, sowie den (generischen) Beispielfall herunterladen:
PCM_v5.0_Format_Specification.pdf
PCM_v5.0_Format_Specification
PCM_v5.0_Format_Testcase

property_DE_road_marks
library_DE_standard_road_marks
library_DE_standard_objects (in Kürze verfügbar)
library_DE_standard_traffic_signs (in Kürze verfügbar)

WAS IST PCM?
PCM ist die Abkürzung für Pre-Crash-Matrix und ist ein spezifiziertes Format zur Beschreibung der Phase eines Verkehrsunfalls vor der Kollision (die sogenannte Pre-Crash-Phase). Es beschreibt die Teilnehmer, ihre Dynamik (Trajektorien) sowie das Umfeld. Zunächst entwickelte die VUFO (Verkehrsunfallforschung der TU Dresden) im Jahr 2011 das For-mat, um Pre-Crash-Daten für Unfälle bereitzustellen, die im Rahmen der German In-Depth Acci-dent Study (GIDAS) untersucht wurden. Im Januar 2019 wurde das Format allgemeiner definiert. Seitdem ist es für jede Unfall- oder Szenariendatenbank anwendbar und öffentlich zugänglich. Da es keine erweiterten Daten zum Unfall/Szenario (z.B. Unfallbeschreibung, Unfallart, Unfall-schwere, etc.) beschreibt, sollten sich Analysen immer auf die verknüpfte Unfall- / Szenariendatenbank beziehen.

ERSTELLUNG UND SPEZIFISCHE PCM-DATENBANK
Ein PCM-Fall kann sowohl durch Simulationsmethoden (z.B. Unfallrekonstruktion) als auch durch Datenaufzeichnung (z.B. von Event Data Recorders (EDR), Naturalistic Driving Study (NDS), Field Operational Test (FOT), ....) erstellt werden. Die resultierende Datenbank enthält eine Reihe von Unfällen/Szenarien im PCM-Format.

WEITERENTWICKLUNG
PCM ist ein "lebendes Format", das sich in Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Nutzern und Partnern wei-terentwickeln soll. Vorschläge für Formaterweiterungen, neue oder fehlende Objekte (OBJTYPE), Fehler in der Spezifikation und vor allem weitere Bibliotheken (z.B. mit länderspezifischen Merkmalen) senden Sie direkt an VUFO über pcm(at)vufo.de. Um einheitliche Definitionen für alle Benutzer zu schaffen, können die Erweiterungen im nächsten Release aufgenommen werden.

Simulation & Systembewertung

Die Entwicklung von neuen aktiven Sicherheitssystemen (Advanced Driving Assistance Systems, ADAS) wird für Automobilhersteller und -zulieferer immer wichtiger. Durch diese Systeme sollen Unfälle verhindert oder zumindest in Ihrer Schwere verringert und damit das zukünftige Unfallgeschehen positiv verändert werden.Um den Nutzen und die funktionale Sicherheit solcher Systeme schon frühzeitig, während des Entwicklungsprozesses, analysieren und bewerten zu können, ist die Simulation des Systems im realen Unfallgeschehen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Basierend auf der Unfalldatenerhebung und Rekonstruktion im Rahmen des GIDAS Projektes, können die realen Unfallszenarien durch ein implementiertes System simulativ verändert und demzufolge analysiert und bewertet werden.

Video2_Simulation_1080409_3D_IPG.mp4

Beispiel 1: Realer Unfallablauf

Video3_Simulation_1080409_3D_mit_AEB.mp4

Beispiel 1: Virtueller Unfall mit implementiertem Braking Assist

Video4_Simulation_1160245_3D_IPG.mp4

Beispiel 2: Realer Unfallablauf

Video5_Simulation_1160245_3D_IPG_Ausweichen.mp4

Beispiel 2: Virtueller Unfall mit implementiertem Steering Assist

Durch die große Anzahl an Unfällen in der GIDAS und GIDAS-PCM Datenbank, können repräsentative Aussagen für das deutsche Unfallgeschehen getroffen werden und damit Fragestellungen wie:
  • Unfallvermeidung
  • Geschwindigkeitsreduktion
  • Verletzungsschwereminderung
  • Detektions- und Auslöseraten von Systemen
  • u.a.
betrachtet werden. Beispiele für Auswertungen:

Reduktion der Kollisionsgeschwindigkeit
Häufigkeit der Systemaktivierung
Design der Sensorgeometrie
Verletzungsrisikofunktion

Die GIDAS-PCM basiert auf der GIDAS-Datenbank. Sie enthält das vorkollisionäre Fahrverhalten und es stehen die statische und dynamische Werte der Beteiligten bis fünf Sekunden vor der ersten Kollision zur Verfügung. Weiterhin enthält sie eine Bibliothek für die deutschen Straßenmarkierungen, sowie für stationäre Objekte. Damit ermöglicht die GIDAS-PCM simulationsbasierte Analysen und Bewertungen des realen Unfallgeschehens. Die Visualisierung des Unfallgeschehens kann dabei in einer 2D- und 3D-Umgebung (z.B. IPG CarMaker) realisiert werden.

Video6_Simulation_1130221_2D.mp4

2D Visualisierung

Video7_Simulation_1130221_3D.mp4

3D Visualisierung

Informationen zur GIDAS-PCM:
  • Größte Datenbank mit realen Unfallszenarien
  • Existiert seit 2011 mit Unfalljahrgängen ab 1999
  • Erhebungsgebiete: Dresden und Hannover
  • Detaillierte Unfallumgebung bis 5 sec. vor der Kollision (seit 2016)
  • Ermöglicht repräsentative Aussagen über das dt. Unfallgeschehen
  • Halbjährliche Updates mit ca. 230 neuen, realen Unfällen
  • 9.729 Unfälle mit folgenden Konstellationen (Stand 02/2018):
Anteile der Beteiligtenarten in der GIDAS-PCM
Schnittstellen existieren zu:
  • IPG: CarMaker, TruckMaker, MotorcycleMaker
  • Mechanical Simulation: CarSim, BikeSim
  • TASS international: PreScan
  • dSPACE: Automotive Simulation Models (ASM)